Marc Marquez wins a wild German MotoGP

Marc Marquez wins a wild German MotoGP, the Repsol Honda rider running off track in the wet early stages but then rocketing through the field after an early charge to slicks on a drying track.

Cal Crutchlow equaled his best ever MotoGP finish with second, while Andrea Dovizioso took third from Scott Redding on the final lap.

Valentino Rossi dropped back to eighth place after joining fellow leaders Dovizioso, Crutchlow and Hector Barbera in a late pit stop, but emerged on intermediates rather than slicks.

Team-mate Jorge Lorenzo was never a contender and finished in 15th.

Home star Stefan Bradl was ruled out of the race after a concussion in warm-up while Loris Baz was returning from foot injuries at Mugello...

1. Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) 47m 3.239s
2. Cal Crutchlow GBR LCR Honda (RC213V) 47m 13.096s
3. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (Desmosedici GP) 47m 14.852s
4. Scott Redding GBR Octo Pramac Yakhnich (Desmosedici GP15) 47m 15.231s
5. Andrea Iannone ITA Ducati Team (Desmosedici GP) 47m 25.994s
6. Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) 47m 29.159s
7. Jack Miller AUS Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V) 47m 29.282s
8. Valentino Rossi ITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1) 47m 29.688s
9. Hector Barbera ESP Avintia Racing (Desmosedici GP14.2) 47m 29.853s
10. Alvaro Bautista ESP Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 47m 34.513s
11. Eugene Laverty IRL Aspar MotoGP Team (Desmosedici GP14.2) 47m 44.447s
12. Maverick Viñales ESP Team Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 47m 45.397s
13. Bradley Smith GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) 48m 6.368s
14. Aleix Espargaro ESP Team Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 48m 9.330s
15. Jorge Lorenzo ESP Movistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1) 48m 20.933s
16. Tito Rabat ESP Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V)* +1 lap
17. Loris Baz FRA Avintia Racing (Desmosedici GP14.2) +2 laps
18. Yonny Hernandez COL Aspar MotoGP Team (Desmosedici GP14.2) +3 laps
Pol Espargaro ESP Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) DNF
Danilo Petrucci ITA Octo Pramac Yakhnich (Desmosedici GP15) DNF