Assen MotoGP: Jack Miller stuns in wet and wild thriller

Jack Miller has claimed a shock first MotoGP race win, and the first by a non-factory rider since 2006, during a restarted Dutch MotoGP round at Assen.

The original race took place on a drying track, but was halted with 12 laps to go when torrential rain returned.

The restart took place over 12 laps, which began with a flurry of falls for Dani Pedrosa, Cal Crutchlow, Andrea Dovizioso (on pole for the restart) and then race leader Valentino Rossi.

Miller than passed Marc Marquez for the lead and held off the double world champion to claim what was also the first MotoGP victory for the Marc VDS team.

Andrea Iannone began last on the grid as punishment for taking out Jorge Lorenzo in Catalunya, but fell from fifth place putting him near the back again for restart, when he recovered back to fifth.
1. Jack Miller AUS Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V) 22m 17.447s
2. Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) 22m 19.438s
3. Scott Redding GBR Octo Pramac Yakhnich (Desmosedici GP15) 22m 23.353s
4. Pol Espargaro ESP Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) 22m 27.259s
5. Andrea Iannone ITA Ducati Team (Desmosedici GP) 22m 35.282s
6. Hector Barbera ESP Avintia Racing (Desmosedici GP14.2) 22m 36.139s
7. Eugene Laverty IRL Aspar MotoGP Team (Desmosedici GP14.2) 22m 40.052s
8. Stefan Bradl GER Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 22m 41.050s
9. Maverick Viñales ESP Team Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 22m 43.595s
10. Jorge Lorenzo ESP Movistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1) 22m 45.051s
11. Tito Rabat ESP Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V)* 23m 39.277s
12. Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) 24m 11.816s
13. Bradley Smith GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) +3 laps
Alvaro Bautista ESP Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) DNF
Michele Pirro ITA Avintia Racing (Desmosedici GP14.2) DNF
Valentino Rossi ITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1) DNF
Aleix Espargaro ESP Team Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) DNF
Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (Desmosedici GP) DNF
Danilo Petrucci ITA Octo Pramac Yakhnich (Desmosedici GP15) DNF
Cal Crutchlow GBR LCR Honda (RC213V) DNF
Yonny Hernandez COL Aspar MotoGP Team (Desmosedici GP14.2) DNS