MotoGP Aragon - Race Results

Jorge Lorenzo took a comfortable MotoGP victory at Aragon after main rival Marc Marquez crashed out - for the fifth time this season - while chasing the Yamaha rider on lap 2.

Title leader Valentino Rossi rode swiftly from sixth to third, then spent most of the race tucked in behind second place Dani Pedrosa.

Rossi and Pedrosa passed each other repeatedly during the final laps, Pedrosa just holding on to second, meaning Rossi's championship lead over Lorenzo has been cut from 23 to 14 points with four rounds remaining.

1. Jorge Lorenzo ESP Movistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1) 41m 44.933s
2. Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) 41m 47.616s
3. Valentino Rossi ITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1) 41m 47.706s
4. Andrea Iannone ITA Ducati Team (Desmosedici GP15) 41m 52.791s
5. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (Desmosedici GP15) 42m 9.255s
6. Aleix Espargaro ESP Team Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 42m 9.762s
7. Cal Crutchlow GBR LCR Honda (RC213V) 42m 10.300s
8. Bradley Smith GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) 42m 10.436s
9. Pol Espargaro ESP Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) 42m 11.385s
10. Yonny Hernandez COL Octo Pramac Racing (Desmosedici GP14.2) 42m 28.822s
11. Maverick Viñales ESP Team Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)* 42m 29.188s
12. Scott Redding GBR Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V) 42m 33.109s
13. Alvaro Bautista ESP Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 42m 34.688s
14. Eugene Laverty IRL Aspar MotoGP Team (RC213V-RS)* 42m 35.204s
15. Nicky Hayden USA Aspar MotoGP Team (RC213V-RS) 42m 35.297s
16. Hector Barbera ESP Avintia Racing (Desmosedici GP14 Open) 42m 35.655s
17. Loris Baz FRA Forward Racing (Forward Yamaha)* 42m 36.930s
18. Stefan Bradl GER Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 42m 38.339s
19. Jack Miller AUS LCR Honda (RC213V-RS)* 42m 41.792s
20. Mike Di Meglio FRA Avintia Racing (Desmosedici GP14 Open) 42m 44.540s
21. Toni Elias SPA Forward Racing (Forward Yamaha) 43m 0.170s
Karel Abraham CZE AB Motoracing (RC213V-RS) DNF
Danilo Petrucci ITA Octo Pramac Racing (Desmosedici GP14.2) DNF
Alex De Angelis RSM E-Motion IodaRacing (ART) DNF
Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) DNF